Pennsylvania Accepts Applications for Medical Marijuana Growers, Processors and Dispensaries – JD Supra (press release)


The applications are quite extensive and require a tremendous amount of information, including, but not limited to, details of the planned operation, identity and background of the applicants and the company’s capital structure.

The Pennsylvania Department of Health will accept permit applications for medical marijuana grower/processors and dispensaries from February 20, 2017 until March 20, 2017, pursuant to its authority under the Medical Marijuana Act. The Department of Health will initially approve 12 grower/processor permits and up to 27 dispensary permits. This Alert provides an overview of the Medical Marijuana Program (the Program). Full details are available on the Program’s website.

Overview

The Program divides Pennsylvania into six medical marijuana regions: Region 1 – Southeast, Region 2 – Northeast, Region 3 – Southcentral, Region 4 – Northcentral, Region 5 – Southwest and Region 6 – Northwest. The Department of Health will approve two grower/processor permits per region, and between two and 10 dispensary permits per region. For example, there are 10 dispensary permits and two grower/processor permits being offered for the Southeast Region, which contains Philadelphia and surrounding counties. Similarly, five dispensary permits and two grower/processor permits will be issued for the Southwest Region, which includes Allegheny County. Only certain counties in each region are deemed eligible locations for a dispensary. For example, in Region 6, only Erie and McKean counties are permissible locations. No more than five grower/processor permit holders may also be issued a dispensary permit; dispensaries may have up to three locations.

Applicants for a dispensary permit must pay an upfront, nonrefundable application fee of $5,000, and a refundable $30,000 permit fee per dispensary location. Applicants also must have at least $150,000 in capital already in a financial institution.

Applicants for a grower/processor permit must pay a $10,000 nonrefundable application fee and a refundable

Read More Here...